PROSITE documentation PDOC00855
RNA polymerases K / 14 to 18 Kd subunits signature


In eukaryotes, there are three different forms of DNA-dependent RNA polymerases (EC transcribing different sets of genes. Each class of RNA polymerase is an assemblage of ten to twelve different polypeptides. In archaebacteria, there is generally a single form of RNA polymerase which also consist of an oligomeric assemblage of 10 to 13 polypeptides.

A component of 14 to 18 Kd shared by all three forms of eukaryotic RNA polymerases and which has been sequenced in budding yeast (gene RPB6 or RPO26), in fission yeast (gene rpb6 or rpo15), in human and in African swine fever virus [1] is evolutionary related [2] to archaebacterial subunit K (gene rpoK). The archaebacterial protein is colinear with the C-terminal part of the eukaryotic subunit.

Last update:

November 1997 / Pattern and text revised.


Technical section

PROSITE method (with tools and information) covered by this documentation:

RNA_POL_K_14KD, PS01111; RNA polymerases K / 14 to 18 Kd subunits signature  (PATTERN)


1AuthorsLu Z. Kutish G.F. Sussman M.D. Rock D.L.
TitleAn African swine fever virus gene with a similarity to eukaryotic RNA polymerase subunit 6.
SourceNucleic Acids Res. 21:2940-2940(1993).
PubMed ID8332503

2AuthorsMcKune K. Woychik N.A.
TitleHalobacterial S9 operon contains two genes encoding proteins homologous to subunits shared by eukaryotic RNA polymerases I, II, and III.
SourceJ. Bacteriol. 176:4754-4756(1994).
PubMed ID8045907

PROSITE is copyrighted by the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics and distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0) License, see prosite_license.html.


View entry in original PROSITE document format
View entry in raw text format (no links)