PROSITE documentation PDOC00889
RNA polymerases L / 13 to 16 Kd subunits signature


In eukaryotes, there are three different forms of DNA-dependent RNA polymerases (EC transcribing different sets of genes. Each class of RNA polymerase is an assemblage of ten to twelve different polypeptides. In archaebacteria, there is generally a single form of RNA polymerase which also consist of an oligomeric assemblage of 10 to 13 polypeptides.

It has been shown that small subunits of about 13 to 16 Kd found in all three types of eukaryotic polymerases are highly conserved. Subunits known to belong to this family are:

  • Budding yeast RPC19 subunit from RNA polymerases I and III [1].
  • Budding yeast RPB11 subunit from RNA polymerase II [2].
  • Mammalian RPA16 from RNA polymerase I.
  • Mammalian RPB11 (gene POLR2J) from RNA polymerase II.
  • Caenorhabditis elegans hypothetical protein F58A4.9.
  • Archaebacterial RNA polymerase subunit L (gene rpoL).

As a signature pattern we selected a conserved region which is located at the N-terminal extremity of these polymerase subunits.

Last update:

December 2004 / Pattern and text revised.


Technical section

PROSITE method (with tools and information) covered by this documentation:

RNA_POL_L_13KD, PS01154; RNA polymerases L / 13 to 16 Kd subunits signature  (PATTERN)


1AuthorsDequard-Chablat M. Riva M. Carles C. Sentenac A.
SourceJ. Biol. Chem. 266:15300-15307(1991).

2AuthorsWoychik N.A. McKune K. Lane W.S. Young R.A.
TitleYeast RNA polymerase II subunit RPB11 is related to a subunit shared by RNA polymerase I and III.
SourceGene Expr. 3:77-82(1993).
PubMed ID8508029

PROSITE is copyrighted by the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics and distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0) License, see prosite_license.html.


View entry in original PROSITE document format
View entry in raw text format (no links)